I HAVE A DREAM!

By Bidhata Rai

This piece has been largely influenced by the “I Have a Dream” speech by Martin Luther King Junior

I have a dream that one day my countrymen will be judged not by the deeds of their forefathers but by the content of their individual character.

I have a dream that one day the denizens of my country will be able to see Nepal stand united and not in the “Cold War” terms.

I have a dream that one day people will learn to recognize the flaws seeded deep down in their own person and stop camouflaging them by imagining drawbacks in others.

I have a dream that one day people will learn to love others not because they love you but simply because you love them.

I have a dream that we’ll hail others victories as we would our own.

I have a dream that there will come a time when realizing one’s cruel attitude he/she will be able to apologize without remorse.

I have a dream that one day we’ll welcome others’ success with our mouths stretch to the ears not just in picture but in reality.

I have a dream that we’ll soon see Nepal and its people content and satisfied…for I believe he who is satisfied is the richest man on earth and even the wealthiest man is poor if he is displeased.

So learn to be satisfied and learn to recognize goodness in others.

Above all learn to accept your faults and slowly you’ll be able cleanse yourself…

Leave a comment